POST 019 – Jumping Into Music Production

Each week, we leave Saturday open for a blog post about some of the things on our mind here at WhiteNoiize. This weeks post is about “Jumping Into Music Production” by KNØTZ.

I wasn’t sure what I was going to write about for my blog post this week. There are so many topics I felt like I could cover but couldn’t quite set myself on a topic. I figured music production was a topic a lot of people are interested in and maybe I could give my two cents on the matter. I’m calling this “Jumping Into Music Production” because I’m going to focus on the “where to go and what to do” of getting started. There are SO many elements when it comes to producing. Sound Design, samples, effects, plug-ins, which DAW to use etc. etc. Here are some common questions and my answers to them.

What DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) should I use?

Probably one of the most asked questions. I started out using FL Studio for two months then switched over to Abelton. Mostly because my friend who was showing me some basics used Abelton. It really doesn’t matter at the end of the day. Just find something and learn everything you can about the interface. (although Abelton’s stock plug-ins are pretty decent.)

Do I need to make all my own sounds?

Listen; don’t feel the need to learn how to make a kick drum or Serum patch right out the gate. Download some good sample packs and start toying around with your DAW. You will get stuck for hours trying to figure out how to make sounds when there are plenty of tools out there for you to use. Save some time, you have a lot to learn anyways.

What plug-ins do I use?

Get yourself focused on some of the basic plug ins. Learn what Delay, Echo, Reverb, Auto-Filter are and go from there. A lot of the basic stock plug ins are a great start before you go buying more advanced things such as the FabFilter suite. I learned a lot by toying around with different effects and just seeing what it did to the sounds.

I don’t have any friends to teach me what do I do?

Get on YouTube! Watch tutorials from Multiplier or Slynk. There are plenty of great YouTube tutorial videos if you just spend an hour a so a day learning about something new. The videos can seem overwhelming and you may not understand everything, but you’ll start to pick up on things the more you watch.

I wanna make some sounds what do I do?

Most DAW’s have built in synths to play around with. I recommend getting Serum/Massive/FM8 or something if you want to do a bit more. I personally love Serum because the interface is very user friendly. It also allows you to visualize wave tables in a way that may help out the visual learners. If you can’t afford Serum up front, there are websites with payment plans for it.

Where do I share my music?

Of course you can use sites such as SoundCloud or Bandcamp. It may take some time for you to build views and what not on your stuff. When you get comfortable enough to start working on your brand, you can build from there and hopefully extend your reach. Marketing is important in a sea of people doing the same thing as you.

 

I could write more but I hope this was a decent read for you all. See you all soon. ~KNØTZ.

Leave a Reply

